A happy lunch time spent rescuing an old drawing


One of my recent commitments to myself has been to start creating things again. But like everyone, I have very little time to do this. Still, I really want to just… play… and through that, learn visually what it is to be a great designer. So this lunch time, I opened up an old drawing of mine. This Curled Cat was originally done as an etching. But unfortunately, the plate was ‘bitten’ too hard, leaving me with an extremely mottled surface, that would have only gotten darker as the etching progressed. I remember being quite sad that I had to give up on this work. I really loved pulling prints, so I scanned all of my prints – the ones that worked out and the ones that didn’t – and saved them.

Today I had another look at this lovely curled fellow, and I spent a few minutes playing with him digitally. One of the idea’s that Ken Robinson puts forward in his book The Element is about flow – which is when you find your passion,  you enter into a state of connectedness, concentration and delight. It’s really energizing to engage in this way. My lunch time was over too soon. But it’s great to feel that one can revisit old ‘mistakes’ and make something beautiful from them, that nothing need ever be lost.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

